Musical Musings – II : Whoooooooo are you, dat dah dat dah!

I guess some people just can’t take a joke. Okay I admit that I was a bit sarcastic on a Facebook thread about “Premier Who Tribute” Who’s Next regarding their recent 12 Bar gig, but it’s all born out of frustration for the woeful lack of promotion that surrounds gigs there. In his defense  the venue owner, Clive, is still trying to get the fundamentals sorted but the interim situation is one where gigs that could be packed out are not achieving their potential. Having recently see Also Eden, veterans of the progressive circuit and all round good band play to about 15 people just underlines my point.

So okay, along with another well known venue owner on the local scene, I made a few comments at the venues expense, not I hasten to add the bands, but like I say born purely out of frustration for the current situation. I bear the venue or those involved in running the place no ill will, I have no axed to grind, in fact I used to promote gigs there during the dark days of Liam Kavanagh and stuck with it for longer than most.

So when I get a series of e-mails from the singer of the Who tribute band telling me that I am unprofessional and shouldn’t be writing for the local paper, it all came as a bit of a shock. I like to think that I help in some small way to champion the local music scene by promoting and attending gigs, reviewing acts, bringing out of town bands in to enable gig swaps and  commenting on current events through the various columns I write. Not that the comments that seemed to cause offence appeared in any of these columns, they were just some acerbic banter on a thread made up of people who know each other very well. And if people are happy to take the majority positive comments I make, they should take the occasional critical pointer with the same good grace. Or am I asking too much?

Still, if you put your thoughts out there, someone is occasionally going to take exception, goes with the territory, I just find it all a bit over the top really. Ah well, onwards and upwards.

And oh yes, thanks for asking, eight people turned up to watch the gig in question on the Saturday night. If I was the gloating type, well you know the rest….

Leave a Reply

