Musical Musings VIII – be prepared, be friendly!

So, there I was on a train back from London, long story short had been to watch the last ever show by Twelfth Night, neo-prog at it’s finest and the full stop on a musical journey of nearly thirty years that stretched from Reading ’83 to The Barbican Centre 2012. Having not reserved seats for the journey back myself and my fellow TN fan Mark, (we were both there at…ok, near the beginning and we were both there at the end) ended up splitting up in search for a comfortable seat for the trip back. Thankfully I didn’t get stuck with the usual weirdo, football fixated middle aged bore or petrol head who opens with “what car do you drive then? instead I found myself billeted with a young chap who was reading …well, l I can’t remember quite what but we bonded over American classic literature so I’m going to say Kerouac or Salinger just to sound like I know my stuff. Anyway It turned out that he played in a band and so talk turned to the subject at hand. Nothing surprising there, however he did let me have a rather groovy CD of their latest single and what a corker it was too, a review followed and it was picked up by a number of associated websites too. So the moral of the story, if you are in a band always carry some of your music with you, we might be in the digital age but you never know, for the price of a pleasant chat with a total stranger on a short journey home, you may just get some extra unexpected exposure and it all helps. So be prepared and be friendly, it goes a long way.

Read the review here – Shout Timber

Leave a Reply

