Musical Musings XI – Putting the Record Straight…AGAIN!

Okay, I guess you can only put up with people bad mouthing you for so long before you feel the need to respond, so here we go again, a brief run down of what Green Man Music is all about, what and how we do things. This is in direct response to things people have said to me, accusations levelled (normally indirectly) thinly veiled troll activity designed to spread rumours and the like.

  1. Green Man Music does not “steal” bands from The Rolleston. In fact how could we, The Rolleston is predominantly a covers and tributes venue and GMM deals only in original music. It’s an accusation I have had a few times, often to my face (which explains why I don’t frequent the place that much any more) and seems to be an ingrained myth with in its walls. If anyone can point out which bands I have supposedly poached, if indeed a venue has any ownership over the bands they work with, I will be happy to concede this point.
  2. Green Man Music doesn’t just book the same few bands or only deal with our “mates.” In fact the opposite is often true with about 50% of the bands we book being out of town. There are quite a few bands that now play Swindon that were first brought into town through one of our bookings. (Manic Shine, Nick Tann, Real Raj, Adepto Futui, The Playmakers, etc etc) and a lot of bands being brought in from all parts of the country that you won’t see in any other Swindon venue James Warner Prophecy (Derby) Bridie Jackson and The Arbour (Newcastle) Even Nine, Monolithian (Cornwall) Hitchcock Blonde (London) Joshua Caole (Cardiff) The Naturals, Mind Museum, Hello Lazarus (Bristol.)
  3. I do not “hate” cover and tribute bands, it’s just that I’m more interested in promoting original bands. There is obviously a thriving market for the former, I just wish that the audience would be more demanding for original music but there is nothing I can do about that. The reason I hardly mention cover bands in my gig guide for the Adver is that the music they play has already got it’s own PR, i.e. the reputation of the bands who wrote the song, so I feel the original bands are the ones who need a helping hand.
  4. I do not use my Adver column to write “crap about the bands other promoters book” I think the columns are fairly positive and although I do have a fairly arid and weird humour some times, if you can’t tell the difference between humour and negativity it’s hardly my fault. In any case like they say, don’t count your reviews in terms of objectivity, count them in column inches. Just getting a mention, no matter what the context is good publicity.
  5. Green Man doesn’t use its review site to put down bands. Most of the reviews are written for use by national PR companies and as such are going to be of a fairly positive nature. As a rule bands that I don’t find interesting, don’t get written about. The last satirical piece I wrote resulted in one of the band members taking offence to the level that he threatened to “burn my house down with me in it” no need to go down that road again.
  6. I do not rip off bands financially. To get the bands in that I want to for Songs of Praise I often have to top the budget out of my own pocket and any profits arising from our Secret Chord night is donated to Strummerville Foundation. Not really the actions of a con man.

I hope that clears a few things up, I’m not the bad guy here, despite a few peoples desire to tar me with that brush. Rant over, head down and wait for the usual responses on the usual Facebook groups.

One thought on “Musical Musings XI – Putting the Record Straight…AGAIN!

  1. music is supposed to be the thing that brings all people together not so is it ? Also there is a element in the Rolly that is unsavory and does put music followers off the place……….

Leave a Reply

